Top Menu

Shortlisted again! BEYOND SPRING

Beyond Spring has been shortlisted (one on five) in the:


“The Richard Jefferies Society and White Horse Book Shop Literary Prize” is awarded annually to the author of the publication considered by the judging panel to be the most outstanding nature writing published in a given calendar year. The winning work will reflect the heritage and spirit of Jefferies’ countryside books. An annual prize of £1,000 will be awarded for any length or format of writing on themes or topics broadly consistent with the work of Richard Jefferies. There were 27 nominations for the 2017 prize. The shortlist was agreed on 3 February and is as follows:

Beyond Spring by Matthew Oates published by Fair Acre Press
A Sweet Wild Note by Richard Smyth published by Elliott and Thompson
Waiting for the Albino Dunnock by Richardson Rosamond  published by the Orion Publishing Group
The Seabird’s Cry by Adam Nicolson published by  HarperCollins
The January Man by Christopher Somerville published by Penguin Random House

The winning title and author will be announced in June 2018.

For more details about the Richard Jeffries Society go here 


Richard Jeffries is one of Matthew Oates’ favourite writers (below Edward Thomas – but up there!!) so I am hoping he wins as I know it will mean a lot to him personally 🙂
Having said that – I was the one who “discovered” this award and entered the book – so am really particularly pleased!

Beyond Spring is also one of five books shortlisted for the BBC Countryfile magazine awards… The only book on both lists!!

Go here to download a free sample PDF of the book

Here for more details about the book

HERE TO VOTE  to make Beyond Spring BBC Countryfile magazine’s COUNTRY BOOK OF THE YEAR!!

, , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.