Top Menu

Thanks and Congrats to the Winners!!

The results for the BBC Countryfile magazine awards are in..

You can read them here

Thank you everyone who voted for Matthew Oates’ Beyond Spring to be Country Book of the Year! It wasn’t to be – and I don’t think any of us were expecting it to carry off this coveted award – as it only came out in October, and I certainly wasnt expecting that number of people to be voting – but thank you thank you from the bottom of my heart for loving the book as much as I do – and for spending your time voting for it. Thank you xx



Also HUGE THANKS to the judges of the BBC Countryfile magazine awards – for their time and careful consideration – and for shortlisting Beyond Spring by Matthew Oates in their shortlist of only 5 nature-writing books in the first place!!

John Craven: Captain Countryfile
Miranda Krestovnikoff: Radio and TV presenter and RSPB president
Fergus Collins: BBC Countryfile Magazine editor
Sheena Harvey: BBC Wildlife editor
Mark Rowe: Rural affairs and travel write
Phoebe Smith: Author and adventurer


They must have had so many books to choose from. Both Matthew and I are so proud to have been on their shortlist of:

• The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris
• Islander by Patrick Barkham
• The Secret Life of Cows by Rosamund Young
• Beyond Spring by Matthew Oates
• The Wainwrights in Colour by Andy Beck


And so grateful to Fergus Collins who describes the Beyond Spring by Matthew Oates thus:

Despite all the bad news about our natural world, naturalist Matthew Oates writes with welcome optimism, recalling a number of wildlife adventures and perfect days in the British countryside. Each one is revealing, uplifting and wise – and accompanied by a stanza or two of verse from Edward Thomas and other lovers of the wild.

Judge Fergus Collins says: “A total joy.”

Nadia xx


, , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.